Let's Talk: SCCY The Company

For the general discussion of SCCY Industries firearms. Includes the SCCY CPX-1 & CPX-2 compact 9mm and CPX-3 subcompact .380 ACP handguns.

Let's Talk: SCCY The Company

Postby FloridaPilot » Thu Jul 28, 2016 9:05 pm

My SCCY was the first firearm I've purchased. I'm that short period of time, I've inherited my grandfathers .38 that I shot as a child, rented a few different guns at the range, and set my sights on my next firearm (probably a year in the future). I've had limited experience with the SCCY, but have effectively fired 1250 rounds without major issue.

Which turns my attention to the company: As stated on their website, the CPX series has been reviewed by dozens of reputable publications, received positive reviews from well regarded YouTube channels, and even made its way into the NRA Gun of the Week (I know, not the "diamond star" standard, but one has to hope the NRA knows what they're talking about). Problems persist. New pistols still experience issues.

So, how, then, does SCCY remain in business? I submit to you, if SCCY had to repair more than a certain percentage of weapons produced, they'd not be able to maintain profitability. Specifically, SCCY has a lower margin that other firearms in the same category, such as the M&P Shield, or Baby Glock. With such a lower margin, it's necessary to reduce the amount of warranty work performed, as the liquidity just isn't there.

The upkeep and maintenance on CNC mills is pricy, and their operation is expensive. Yes, one eliminates the need for humans, but parts in CNC mills do fail and they can be quite staggering in price. Electricity, raw materials, shipping to distributors, cardboard boxes, design and engineering costs, R&D costs, it all adds up. Yes, Mr. Roebuck does a lot of engineering, but he can't do it all.