A couple of more days at the range...

Reports from the Firing Line. Let us know how the shooting went and don't forget to post some pictures!

A couple of more days at the range...

Postby GregT » Sun Apr 17, 2016 5:10 pm

The wife and I went to the range yesterday to shoot some of our carry guns. Started off shooting the SCCY with Blazer Brass... and was shooting 6" to 10" low at 7 yards. Shot three mags like this. I asked the guy next to me to try, and he did the same... all shots really low. I was thinking something was wrong with the SCCY, so started shooting the Shield... also with the Blazer Brass... and it shot dead on... even at 25 yards. I tried shooting a couple of more mags through the SCCY... still the sh*ts, so I gave up and came home.

I got up this morning and thought I would try it again but with different ammo... so drove the 20 miles to the range and gave it another try. I started shooting Winchester White Box, and the SCCY was shooting a fist size grouping. Thought I would try the Blazer Brass again... and it shot way low again. I tried a different box of the Blazer and it shot a little better but still low... something is just not right with the Blazer Brass and the SCCY. The Shield was dead on with all the ammo.

So... I have about 400 rounds through the SCCY without any feed, bang or ejecting problems... but the shooting low with the Blazer is disconcerting. I shot the Blazer the first time out and had no problems... so not sure what is going on.

My front frame pin is now walking out with each mag I shoot... I will have to contact SCCY this week and get the larger frame pins and see if that works.

I'm probably going to quit carrying the SCCY... at least for now... and go back to my Shield or M&P 9C. After I get the new frame pins and I try shooting it again I will either retire it to the safe... or possibly sell it.. not sure yet. If I decide to sell it... I will check here first to see if anyone might be interested.
GregT
Forum Regular